SICK-DAY ESSENTIALS

Be the Light (2)

Hi guys (and gals), long time no talk! I’m sorry I haven’t posted anything over the last few days but my dreaded allergies have FINALLY caught up with me and I have been battling a gnarly sinus infection. I’m not quite 100% but I am feeling a little better and I thought I would pop on here and share some of my must-have essentials when I am feeling crummy and under the weather. And as always, I will link everything I mention down below!

  1. Kari Gran Lip Buff ($16): I don’t know about y’all but when I’m sick, my lips are INCREDIBLY dry…like alligator skin dry. I used to use the Tarte Lip Scrub in the pot (and I loved it) but this Kari Gran Lip Buff is soooooo much better. The sugar granules are larger and really help to get the dead skin off of your lips, while the oils in the scrub leave your lips feeling soft and moisturized!
  2. Rosebud Salve Lip Balm ($6): I know, I know…I’ve talked about this lip balm 434645255 times on my blog; but y’all honestly, it’s the best! It’s inexpensive and does a WONDERFUL job moisturizing your lips. It’s the perfect compliment to the lip scrub I mentioned above and bonus: you can use it on your cuticles, elbows, knees AND for all you moms out there, I hear it works wonders for diaper rash too!
  3. Johnson’s Soothing Vapor Bath ($4.99): I know this is marketed for all the beautiful babies in the world, but they are just gonna have to share. When I’m feeling stuffed up and under the weather I love to draw a nice, hot bath and add a generous amount of this to my bath water. I feel like it helps me to relax and helps to open up and clear out my sinuses.
  4. Fresh Rose Face Mask ($25-62): Sticking with the alligator skin theme, I love using a hydrating face mask when I’m feeling under the weather. Oftentimes my skin will look dry, flakey and dull when I’m sick and I just think this is a nice step to combat some of those issues. It’s gentle on the skin does a good job of making me feel refreshed and awake!
  5. Urban Decay Naked Skin One & Done Complexion Perfector ($34): For those days when I’m feeling crummy but still have to go to work and look semi-presentable, I slap this stuff on my face. It has light coverage and evens out my skin tone like a dream! With a little concealer (which I’ll get to next) and some mascara, I can look like a real functioning human! It’s a miracle!
  6. Urban Decay Naked Skin Concealer ($28) & Urban Decay Naked Skin Color Correcting Fluid ($28): I’ll be honest, I don’t use the Urban Decay concealers on a day-to-day basis (they are a bit pricey for my liking), but when I’m sick that’s typically what I reach for. I use the color correcting fluid in both the peach and the green shades and then go in with a little bit of the Naked Skin concealer in Light Fair. I think it pairs nicely with the Urban Decay One & Done perfection corrector and does a nice job covering any under eye circles or redness that I may have…and let’s be honest, there is A LOT of that happening on my face when I’m sick (and even when I’m not)!
  7. Kleenex Facial Tissues with Lotion ($5.49): These. Things. Are. Amazing! These are some of the best tissues I have ever used! I know that sounds dramatic, but there is nothing worse than having a cold and having to blow your nose so many times that you rub it completely raw (#amirite). I can honestly say that when I use these my nose never gets raw; red: yes, raw: no!
  8. Muxinex Sinus Max ($20): This stuff saves me EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. I have used a variety of products within the Mucinex line and have never been let down. I will say that I go through these bottles pretty quickly, as they aren’t as big as the Dayquil/Nyquil bottles; but I think it works the best so I spend the extra few dollars and buy it more than once if I have to (…like this last time).
  9. Yogi Chamomile Tea ($6.48): No sick-day essential list is complete without hot tea. I’ll be honest, I’m not a HUGE tea drinker, but I do keep chamomile tea in the cabinets for occasions like this! I add lemon and honey (probably way too much honey) and it really helps coat and soothe my throat! My co-worker Ameera also turned me on to hot water with lemon and honey…it does the exact same thing, so if you don’t have any tea on hand, just get you a nice cup of hot water and drown it with lemon and honey and you’ll be good to go!
  10. SOUP!!!! I usually go for the good ol’ classic chicken noodle, but just about anything (as long as it’ not spicy) will do!

So those are just a few things that get me through the days when my allergies strike and my sinuses go bananas. What are some of your sick-day essentials, anything I should try?!

-B

22 thoughts on “SICK-DAY ESSENTIALS

  1. I had no idea they made such tissues!! That is brilliant. Whenever I get sick my nose just peels like I’m changing my skin lol I look like a snake. Need to look into those. And the babies don’t mind sharing haha I use baby cream on my face when I’m not going to leave the house and want to give my skin a break from the heavy, sunscreen filled moisturizer I need to use. Great list, dear. I would add Lemon tea with honey and some ginger!! It does wonders. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great sick-day list! My lips also get dry when I’m sick; I like to use eos whenever I have cracked lips, as it always helps me! And every time I’m sick, I crave cold drinks, as they sooth sore/constricted throats, and if I don’t have any refrigerated drink that catches my fancy when I’m ill, I will freeze a small amount of water in my water bottle (maybe about a half cup) while it’s laying on its side in the freezer, then add room temperature water to that solid ice cube. It keeps my water nice and cold for hours! It was a life hack I saw on Pinterest one time 🙂 I do it in the summers, and any other time I’m craving a cool drink.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tbh the only thing I do when I’m sick is sleep the entire day to kill time. Kudos to you for putting in the effort with your makeup cause being presentable is the last thing on my mind when I’m feeling unwell. People don’t have the biggest appetite when sick so what I always have since young is hot sweetened tea with something similar to the digestive biscuit and dip it in. ^.^/

    would love it if you can check out my blog too
    Xo, Vanessa
    http://ssaspageblog.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • I completely understand, if I don’t have to be at work I pretty much just stay home and lounge/sleep all day long. However most days I still try and come into work (unless I’m contagious) so I try and put in minimal effort while still passing as presentable. lol. Thanks for stopping by, I will go check out your blog right now! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I am finally feeling a little better! I’m sorry you’re feeling under the weather; I hope you are able to relax and get some rest and that you start feeling better soon!

      Like

  4. I’ve seen that salve, and multiple times I’ve considered getting it. But like I mentioned, I’m such a cheapo, but after spending some of my money on the face products that I do, which are more expensive in my range of what I spend, I may invest in the salve. It looks like it will last for quite a bit. Thanks for sharing the tidbit about the Johnson’s vapor. I love using vapor rub when I’m sick, and you can use vapor rub for sore muscles as well :). It’s nice to know there are other substitutes out there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

